top of page
Search
  • seiferm

Educational Experience

Updated: May 29, 2019

The beautiful beaches will always catch the eye of travelers to Jamaica, but the educational experience I gained was worth the trip. I grew as a future educator and as a person.


These amazing people are the future of agricultral education in Jamacia and the United States.

Dear Reader,

Jamaica has taught me a lot about tropical agriculture, culture, and more about myself. I have learned that my passion to teach agriculture education has grown, and I am more excited to be educating others than before. While in Jamaica I have experienced a different culture and enjoyed every minute of it. During the study abroad there were days we spent at College of Agriculture, Science, and Education (CASE), in the classroom discussing about what it takes to be a great teacher and being inclusive to all cultures and differences. This time has shown me that teaching is my true passion.


“Teachers plant the seeds of knowledge that will grow forever - Unknown”

On the last day at CASE I had the wonderful opportunity to tour the campus. The horticulture department is wonderful because they have peppers, banana trees, mango trees, okra plants, and even corn. They were currently building another greenhouse, which one of the CASE students with us was working in the greenhouses over the summer. I also got to see all the livestock they have, goats, lambs, dairy and beef cattle, chickens, swine, and rabbits. One amazing thing about Case and many high schools in Jamaica is they can have students process chickens and other livestock on the school grounds. This was very interesting to see and hear how educational it is from some current students. CASE is a wonderful college with great educational opportunities and great people.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page